Just you wait

One of the things I love about musicals is that they give you the opportunity to express yourself, and your emotions, in ways that you would never be able to do in real life. Some people find that element of musicals to be cheesy. I find it cathartic.

One of my favorite “angry” songs is Jo Dee Messina’s “My Give a Damn is Busted.” The other one is “Just you wait” from My Fair Lady.

This song occurs in the climactic moment of the musical when poor Eliza Doolittle just can’t take any more of Professor Higgins’ relentless speech lessons, and his less than encouraging attitude. To Higgins, Eliza is a nobody – a being without feelings or needs, merely a plaything he is using to prove a point. Thus, he shows little compassion and little patience for Eliza’s struggles to master the speech lessons he is giving her, and eventually, Eliza snaps.

Just you wait, ‘enry ‘iggins, just you wait!
You’ll be sorry, but your tears’ll be to late!
You’ll be broke, and I’ll have money;
Will I help you? Don’t be funny!
Just you wait, ‘enry ‘iggins, just you wait!
Just you wait, ‘enry ‘iggins, till you’re sick,
And you scream to fetch a doctor double-quick.
I’ll be off a second later And go straight to the the-ater!
Oh ho ho, ‘enry ‘iggins, just you wait!
Ooooooh ‘enry ‘iggins!
Just you wait until we’re swimmin’ in the sea!
Ooooooh ‘enry ‘iggins!
And you get a cramp a little ways from me!
When you yell you’re going to drown I’ll get dressed
and go to town! Oh ho ho, ‘enry ‘iggins!
Oh ho ho, ‘enry ‘iggins! Just you wait!
One day I’ll be famous! I’ll be proper and prim;
Go to St. James so often I will call it St. Jim!
One evening the king will say:
“Oh, Liza, old thing,
I want all of England your praises to sing.
Next week on the twentieth of May
I proclaim Liza Doolittle Day!
All the people will celebrate the glory of you
And whatever you wish and want I gladly will do.”
“Thanks a lot, King” says I, in a manner well-bred;
But all I want is ‘enry ‘iggins ‘ead!”
“Done,” says the King with a stroke.
“Guard, run and bring in the bloke!”
Then they’ll march you, ‘enry ‘iggins to the wall;
And the King will tell me: “Liza, sound the call.”
As they lift their rifles higher, I’ll shout:
“Ready! Aim! Fire!”
Oh ho ho, ‘enry ‘iggins,
Down you’ll go, ‘enry ‘iggins!
Just you wait!

Watch a video of the scene from the movie, starring Audrey Hepburn. Personally, the soundtrack with Julie Andrews is miles better, in my opinion, but I couldn’t find a video with Julie. Oh well, you’ll get the idea.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

