Rain Is A Good Thing

The dry spell is over at last! After weeks of waking up to a blank playlist, I finally had a song in my head this morning – and it was none other than Luke Bryan’s “Rain Is A Good Thing.”

Bryan is a relative newcomer to the music business – he released his first album in 2007. But his name has become more well known through hits such as “Do I,” “Country Man,” and “Rain Is A Good Thing.” His name will likely continue growing, especially after last night when his video for the song “Do I” won a CMT Award for “Best Breakthrough Video of the Year.”

But let’s get back to the song in my head. “Rain Is A Good Thing” is based on the fact that on a farm, rain is needed to grow crops. Bryan uses that basic survival necessity and takes it several steps further, turning it into a fun song about finding the good in something that many think of as an inconvenience. I’ll let the chorus show you what I mean:

Rain makes corn, corn makes whiskey
Whiskey makes my baby feel a little frisky
Back roads are boggin’ up, my buddies pile up in my truck
We hunt our honeys down, we take ’em into town
Start washin’ all our worries down the drain
Rain is a good thing

It’s an upbeat song with a hummable tune. My only complaint is that when Bryan gets to the part about “washin’ all our worries down the drain” he actually starts singing about “warshing” our worries down the drain, and I get confused every time. I don’t think I’ll ever understand how people can find an “r” in the word “wash.”  I tutor kids in reading, and I can promise you, there’s no “r” in that word.

Oh well, it’s still a fun song. Click here to watch the music video.

~J

p.s. If you want to watch the CMT Award-winning video for “Do I” click here.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

