If I can dream

I learned something new today. This morning while I was brushing my teeth I started humming “If I can dream.” Until today, I had only heard this  sung by Della Reese on Touched by an Angel. But then I googled the song and found out that it was originally recorded by the king himself – Elvis Presley. I definitely didn’t see that one coming.

According to Wikipedia, the song was written by Walter Earl Brown, using Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I have a dream” speech as inspiration, and was recorded by Presley in 1968. It then found it’s way to me via the Touched by an Angel Christmas cd in which Della Reese gives it her own special touch. It’s a beautiful song with really meaningful lyrics.

There must be lights burning brighter somewhere
Got to be birds flying higher in a sky more blue
If I can dream of a better land
Where all my brothers walk hand in hand
Tell me why, oh why, oh why can’t my dream come true?

There must be peace and understanding sometime
Strong winds of promise that will blow away
All the doubt and fear
If I can dream of a warmer sun
Where hope keeps shining on everyone
Tell me why, oh why, oh why won’t that sun appear?

We’re lost in a cloud
With too much rain
We’re trapped in a world
That’s troubled with pain
But as long as a man
Has the strength enough to dream
He can redeem his soul and fly

Deep in my heart there’s a tremblin’ question
Still I am sure that the answer’s gonna come somehow
Out there in the dark, there’s always a beckoning candle
And while I can think, while I can talk
While I can stand, while I can walk
While I can dream, please let my dream
Come true, ohhhhh, right now
Let it come true right now

Let me repeat my favorite lines

“If I can dream of a better land, where all my brothers walk hand in hand, tell me why can’t my dream come true?”

It’s such a spiritual song – and it excludes no one. It’s a spirit that encompasses each and every one of us, and doesn’t differentiate based on beliefs or appearances or anything like that. It’s really beautiful. I would highly recommend listening to it – I’m rather partial to Della Reese’s version.

~J

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

